current exhibitions

Gallery One
Gallery Two
Gallery Three
Gallery Four
Night Projection Window

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

shadow sites Image

01.04.2016—22.05.2016
Gallery 2
Leuli Eshraghi, Catherine Evans, Grace Herbert, Sophie Neate, James Tylor, Rudi Williams and Elmedin Zunic
shadow sites

Curated by Frances Wilkinson and Samantha McCulloch
shadow sites was developed through Next Wave's Emerging Curators Program with CCP for Next Wave Festival 2016.


What happens to artworks when they are hidden from view, waiting in vaults and archives? Examining the relationship between artwork, its documentation, and viewing spaces, shadow sites explores how art is understood both within and outside of the gallery. Blurring the boundary between the places artworks are put to rest and those where they are set on stage, the exhibitions are presented across two locations—Centre for Contemporary Photography and a nearby storage unit. Seven artists working with photography, sculpture and language present new site responsive works that explore the relationship between original and document, tracing stages of production and display while referencing personal and museological histories.

SUPPORTED BY
shadow sites supporters


Public Programs

shadow sites Opening at National Storage Collingwood
Friday 6 May 2016, 5—7pm
Free | No bookings required

shadow sites Walking Tour and Artist Talks
Saturday 7 May 2016, 11am—12:30pm
Departs from National Storage Collingwood
Free | Bookings required: nextwave.org.au


RELATED LINKS

Next Wave nextwave.org.au
Frances Wilkinson francesfwilkinson.wordpress.com
Samantha McCulloch samanthamcculloch.com
Léuli Eshraghi leulieshraghi.com
Catherine Evans catherineevans.com.au
Grace Herbert graceherbert.com
Sophie Neate sophieneate.com
James Tylor jamestylor.com
Rudi Williams rudi-williams.com
Elmedin Zunic elmedinzunic.com


Image: Elmedin Zunic Document #79 2014
concrete, mesh and paper, dimensions variable
Photograph: J Forsyth

Image: CCP Supporter logos